FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List

The FIFA World Cup highest goalscorer receives the Golden Boot awards. Golden Boot was earlier named as Golden shoe when it was first introduced at the inugural FIFA Women’s World Cup 1991. But, later on, It was renamed to Golden Boot in the 2011 Edition of the tournament. Here we are providing the complete details of the FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List.

As the Golden Boot award goes to the top goalscorer, If there is a tie between two or more players with the same numbers of goals in the tournament than the tie goes to the player who had most assist in the goal, if there is still a tie than the Golden Boot award goes to the player who has played fewer minutes or the least amount of time on the field (most goals per minute). The second- and third-placed players receive Silver and Bronze Boots, respectively.

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List

Following are the top scorers at the FIFA Women’s World Cups and Golden boot winners :

World CupGolden Boot WinnerGoals
1991Michelle Akers (USA)10
1995Ann Kristin Aarones (Norway)6
1999Sissi (Brazil) and Sun Wen (China)7
2003Birgit Prinz (Germany)7
2007Marta (Brazil)7
2011Homare Sawa (Japan)5
2015Celia Sasic (Germany6
2019Megan Rapinoe (USA)6

FIFA World Cup Silver And Bronze Boot Winners List

Following are the FIFA Women’s World Cups Silver and Bronze boot winners :

World CupSilver Boot WinnersGoalsBronze Boot WinnersGoals
1991Heidi Mohr7Linda Medalen
Carin Jennings
1995Hege Riise5Shi Guihong3
1999  Ann Kristin Aarønes4
2003Maren Meinert4Kátia4
2007Abby Wambach6Ragnhild Gulbrandsen6
2011Marta4Abby Wambach4
2015Carli Lloyd6Anja Mittag5
2019Alex Morgan6Ellen White6

FIFA Goal of the Tournament

At the completion of each FIFA Women’s World Cup, There are various awards which was awarded for different achievements by players and teams. Goal of the tournament is one of such awards which was handed out to the player who has score the most outstanding goal of the tournament.The award was planned by Fifa to create more connection between FIFA and their football Fans.

The Goal of the tournament award for FIFA Women’s World Cup was first handed out at the conclusion of 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The award was decided by the fans through online voting from the shortlist goals provided by the FIFA Technical Study Group at the conclusion of the tournament. The short list goals are not fixed in each FIFA tournament, As it was decided by the FIFA Technical Study group after studying the goals and picking the goals which are deemed worthy to be shortlisted for the award.

FIFA Women’s World Cup Goal of the Tournament Winners List

World CupPlayerScore againstRoundMinute of GoalDetails
2007 (China)Marta (Brazil)United StatesSemi-Finals79′Marta’s scored second goal of the game
2011 (Germany)Abby Wambach (USA)BrazilQuarter-Finals120+2′A last-second headed goal in extra time of the second half of extra time tied the score and forced a penalty shootout.
2015 (Canada)Carli Lloyd (USA)JapanFinal16′From the middle line, Lloyd scored the game’s third goal.
2019 (France)Cristiane (Brazil)AustraliaGroup Stage38′Cristiane scored the second goal for Brazil via header





Leave a Comment