FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners List

FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners List
Pic Credit : FIFA+

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international association football competition which was first held in 1991. It is contested by the women’s national teams of the members of FIFA, the sport’s global governing body. The competition has been held every four years. Here, we are going to take a look about the past FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners List. The United States won the most recent World Cup, which was held in France in 2019. The Americans defeated the Netherlands 2-0 to earn their second straight and fourth overall championship (1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019).

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is entering its ninth edition, A record four Women’s World Cups have been won by the USA. The First Asian team to win a FIFA World Cup was Japan in 2011. (including both men and women). Winners of FIFA Women’s World cup titles :

USA (4)

Germany (2)

Norway (1)

Japan (1)

Women’s FIFA World Cup Winners List

YearWinnersScoreRunners-upVenueLocationAttendanceNo. of Teams
1991United States2-1NorwayTianhe StadiumGuangzhou, China63,00012
1995Norway2-0GermanyRasunda StadiumStockholm, Sweden17,15812
1999United States0-0 (5-4)pChinaRose BowlPasadena,California,US90,18516
2003Germany2-1SwedanHome Depot CenterCarson, California, US26,13716
2007Germany2-0BrazilHongkou Football StatdiumShanghai, China31,00016
2011Japan2-2 (3-1)pUnited StatesCommerzbank-ArenaFrankfurt, Germany48,81716
2015United States5-2JapanBC PlaceVancouver, Canada53,34124
2019United States2-0NetherlandsParc Olympique LyonnaisDécines-Charpieu, France57,90024

Upcoming Finals

2023 vs Stadium AustraliaSydney, AustraliaTBD

Women’s FIFA World Cup Winners, Runners-Up and Third Place List

YearWinnersRunners-UpThird Place
1991United StatesNorwaySweden
1995NorwayGermanyUnited States
1999United StatesChinaBrazil
2003GermanySwedenUnited States
2007GermanyBrazilUnited States
2011JapanUnited StatesSweden
2015United StatesJapanEngland
2019United StatesNetherlandsSweden

FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners List

USA : 4 (1991, 1995, 2015, 2019)

Germany : 2 (2003, 2007)

Norway : 1 (1995)

Japan : 1 (2011)

Most Goals Scored In the FIFA Women’s World Cup

In the 2019 FIFA World Cup, Brazil legend Marta became the only player to score in five different editions of the  FIFA World Cup tournament, as well as the all-time leading goalscorer, for both men and women FIFA World Cup. She is leading the chart with highest goal score in the World Cup with 17 goals till date

Marta writes her name into World Cup history. She became the first player to score in five finals, A feat matched by Christine Sinclair in 2019 and Cristiano Ronaldo in 2022 and also she is the first female footballer to score at five consecutive Olympic Games.

Most goals scored by an individual player in the FIFA Women’s World tournament are as follows :

RankPlayer NameGoals Scored
1Marta (Brazil)17
2Birgit Prinz (Germany)
Abby Wambach (USA)
4Michelle Akers (USA)12
5Cristiane (Brazil)
Sun Wen (China)
Bettina Wiegmann (Germany)

Most goals scored by a country in the FIFA Women’s World tournament are as follows :

RankCountryGoals Scored
1United States138

Most Appearances in FIFA Women’s World Cup Finals by a Football Player

Formiga holds a record for appearing at 7 different FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments (1995, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2011, 2015, 2019). She played for Brazil national team for 26 years from 1995 to 2021. She also holds many international records as a member of the Brazil national team, being the only player present in all Olympic Games tournaments of women’s football since the first edition at the 1996 Summer Olympics. Formiga set the record when she lined up for Brazil’s first game of the 2019 Women’s World Cup, against Jamaica on 9 June 2019.

Homare Sawa has appeared in 6 FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments. She represented Japan from 1993 to 2015 and represented in six FIFA Women’s World Cup tournament editions (1995,1999, 2003, 2007, 2011, 2015). She played for 22 years with the Japan national team, most notably captaining them to a FIFA Women’s World Cup win in 2011 and an Olympic silver medal finish in 2012.


Who has won the most FIFA Women’s World Cup?

In all eight edition of the tournament, 36 teams have played till now, Of which United states have won record four Women’s World Cups. Germany have 2 times, while Norway and Japan have won 1 each respectively.

Leave a Comment