Cricket World Cup Winners List – Full List of Champions (Updated 2023)

Cricket World Cup Winners List
Pic Credit : ICC

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List: A Complete Guide

ICC Cricket World Cup is the world’s most prestigious cricket tournament. It is held every four years and since 1975, Here we are going to see the complete Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 To 2019, The ICC World Cup tournament has been contested by the best cricketers from around the world. In the entire ICC Cricket World Cup History Six different teams have won the ICC Cricket World Cup tournament.

The first Cricket World Cup was held in England in 1975, and it was won by the West Indies. Since then, the ICC Cricket World Cup tournament has been won by a total of six different teams, The ICC World Cup Winners List : Australia, England, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies.

Cricket World Cup Winners List is spearheaded by Australia, As it is the all-time leading ICC World Cup-winning team, having triumphed five times in the ICC Cricket World Cup tournament. Australia in the ICC Cricket World Cup History is also the only country to have won the World Cup three times in a row, doing so from 1999 to 2007.

ODI World Cup Winners List also includes India and the West Indies who are the other two teams to have won the Cricket World Cup more than once, with two victories each. India won the ICC World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while the West Indies won the ODI World Cup in 1975 and 1979.

Cricket World Cup Winners List also consists of England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka Who have each won the ICC Cricket World Cup once. England won the ODI World Cup tournament in 2019, Pakistan won in 1992 and Sri Lanka won in 1996.

Cricket World Cup Winners List

1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand


ODI World Cup Winners List

The West Indies won the first two Cricket World Cups in 1975 and 1979, defeating Australia and England in the finals, respectively. India prevented the West Indies from winning a third consecutive title in 1983, defeating them in the final to win their first ODI World Cup.

Allan Border led Australia to their first Cricket World Cup title in 1987, while Pakistan lifted the Cricket World Cup trophy for the first time in 1992 under their captain, Imran Khan. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, lifted the ICC World Cup title for the first time under the captain, Arjuna Ranatunga in 1996.

Australia dominated the World Cup in the early 21st century, winning three consecutive titles in 1999, 2003, and 2007. India won their second ICC World Cup in 2011 on home soil, and Australia and England won the next two tournaments in 2015 and 2019, respectively.

Australia is the most successful team in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup, having won the tournament five times. India and the West Indies are the only other teams to have won the World Cup multiple times, with two titles each. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have also won the World Cup once.

List of ICC World Cup Winning Captains

The first Cricket World Cup title was won by Clive Lloyd, who triumphed in the inaugural edition of the tournament in 1975. Lloyd was also the victorious captain of the following edition, which took place in England, in 1979. To this day, only Lloyd and Australian cricketer Ricky Ponting are the only players to have won two World Cup titles as a captain.

List of ICC World Cup Winning Captains :

YearWinning CaptainCountry
1975Clive LloydWest Indies
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1983Kapil DevIndia
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1996Arjun RanatungaSri Lanka
1999Steve WaughAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2019Eoin MorganEngland

ICC Player of the Tournament Award List

YearPlayer of the TournamentPerformance
1992Martin Crowe456 runs
1996Sanath Jayasuriya221 runs and 6 wickets
1999Lance Klusener281 runs and 17 wickets
2003Sachin Tendulkar673 runs and 2 wickets
2007Glenn McGrath26 wickets
2011Yuvraj Singh362 runs and 15 wickets
2015Mitchell Starc22 wickets
2019Kane Williamson578 runs and 2 wickets

Man of the Match in World Cup Final List

YearPlayer of the Match in FinalPerformance
1975Clive Lloyd102
1979Viv Richards138*
1983Mohinder Amarnath26 & 3/12
1987David Boon75
1992Wasim Akram33 & 3/49
1996Aravinda de Silva107* & 3/42
1999Shane Warne4/33
2003Ricky Ponting140*
2007Adam Gilchrist149
2011MS Dhoni91*
2015James Faulkner3/36
2019Ben Stokes84* & 0/20

ICC Golden Bat Award List

YearHighest Run scorerRuns
1975Glenn Turner333
1979Gordon Greenidge253
1983David Gower384
1987Graham Gooch471
1992Martin Crowe456
1996Sachin Tendulkar523
1999Rahul Dravid461
2003Sachin Tendulkar673
2007Matthew Hayden659
2011Tillakaratne Dilshan500
2015Martin Guptill547
2019Rohit Sharma648

ICC Golden Ball Award List

YearHighest Wicket TakerWickets
1975Gary Gilmour
Bernard Julien
1979Mike Hendrick10
1983Roger Binny18
1987Craig McDermott18
1992Wasim Akram18
1996Anil Kumble15
1999Geoff Allott
Shane Warne
2003Chaminda Vaas23
2007Glenn McGrath26
2011Zaheer Khan
Shahid Afridi
2015Mitchell Starc
Trent Boult
2019Mitchell Starc27

ICC World Cup 2023 Date

India will host the ICC World Cup 2023 from October 5 to November 19, 2023. The quadrennial international men’s cricket championship, which is put on by the International Cricket Council (ICC), will be in its thirteenth iteration.

ICC World Cup 2023 Host

The ODI World Cup 2023 will be held in India from October 5, 2023 to November 19, 2023

India will be hosting the ICC World Cup tournament for the first time on its own in the entire history of the tournament. The country has co-hosted the tournament in 1987 (together with Pakistan), 1996 (together with Pakistan and Sri Lanka) and 2011 (together with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh) but has not hosted it on its own ever.

Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums

World Cup 2023 cricket will be held in India and will be held at 10 venues across the country. The stadiums offer a variety of capacities and facilities and can be found anywhere in the country, from big cities to small towns.

Here is a list of the stadiums for the Cricket World Cup 2023:

  • Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
  • Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
  • Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
  • MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
  • Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune
  • M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
  • Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  • Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Leave a Comment