UConn Completes Dominant NCAA Tournament Run with 76-59 win against San Diego State to win National Championship for Fifth Time

UConn Completes Dominant NCAA Tournament Run with 76-59 win against San Diego State to win National Championship for Fifth Time
Pic Credit : NCAA March Madness Twitter

UConn completed one of the most dominant NCAA Tournament runs in college basketball history on Monday night, As No. 4 seeded UConn beats No.5 seeded Aztecs 76-59 to win the national championship title for the fifth time in the tournament history. Huskies have dominated the competition throughout the tournament, winning each game by at least 13 points.

Huskies rolls to the national Championship title with dominant win against San Diego State, Just like they have done throughout the NCAA Tournament to earn their first national title since 2014. It’s not only the Huskies’ fifth title since 1999, it’s their second in Houston and fourth in Texas. Though they didn’t rank among the title favorites when this journey began three weeks ago.

Uconn have been in superb form lately and defeated all their opponents with a double digit margin in the current season. Title game was not different too, As they beat San Diego State with a 17 points difference which is again a double digit margin win. Huskies have became the fifth team Since the bracket expanded to 68 teams in 1985 to win all six NCAA Tournament games by double-digits on the way to a championship.

San Diego State had a brief flash of success to open the game before slumped through an 11-minute stretch without a field goal in the first half which UConn took advantage and finished the first half with 36-24 lead into the break.

The Huskies built up a 16-point lead but Aztecs would keep it interesting until late in the second half, they withstood a late surge that narrow the margin to five points with just over five minutes left in the game. But UConn regained control and found their footing after a huge 3-pointer by Jordan Hawkins, After that they controlled the game till the final minutes and ran away with the victory easily.

Tristen Newton led the way by scoring 19 points and 10 rebounds. while tournament MOP Adama Sanogo scored 17 points with 10 rebounds and teammate Jordan Hawkins scored 16 points which led UConn to a win over San Diego State and national championship title. UConn have won all their six games of the tournament by an average of 20 points, only a fraction less than what North Carolina did in sweeping to the title in 2009.

On the otherhand, Aztecs was led by Keshad Johnson(Scored 14 points), Lamont Butler — the buzzer-beating hero against FAU — and Darrion Trammell all finished within double figures,

The title win makes UConn only the second NO. 4 seed to win it all, joining Arizona who won it in 1997. On the way of creating history for themselves, Huskies have halted a series of firsts for San Diego State, As Aztecs fell short of just one game to win their first title, being the first No. 5 seed team to win the title and becoming the first Mountain West team to win the championship

“It means everything. I’m not here without that special group of coaches and players, but I’m probably also not here if I didn’t have to deal with that adversity. And if I didn’t have tough people that raised me, like a tough older brother who prepared me for all the adversity you have to face in life and battle back from.” said Dan Hurley to Tracy Wolfson on CBS postgame

UConn Huskies all championship comes since 1999 i.e. since past 25 years, this make Huskies as the most decorated team in the past quarter-century. Over that period, Huskies have won five championship title with three different coaches at helm. The latest entrant to joined the predecessors is Coach Dan Hurley,

Over that span, the Huskies have won titles with three different coaches as Dan Hurley joined predecessors Kevin Ollie and Jim Calhoun in taking UConn to the sport’s pinnacle.

Here’s what you need to know:

  • It is UConn’s fifth national championship in program history. UConn has five titles since 1999, the most for any Division I program in that span.
  • The Huskies are now 5-0 in national championship games.
  • UConn forward Adama Sanogo earned Most Outstanding Player honors. Sanogo had a double-double 17 points and 10 rebounds in the championship game.

Wooden Award Winner :

Huskies vs Aztecs Final Score :

Team1st Half2nd HalfFinal Score
San Diego State243559

March Madness: Future sites, Dates, Locations

Below are the future sites for the NCAA Division I men’s basketball Final Four:

Final Four dates/
National championship
City, StatesVenue
April 6 and 8, 2024Phoenix, AZState Farm Stadium
April 5 and 7, 2025San Antonio, TXAlamo dome
April 4 and 6, 2026Indianapolis, INLucas Oil Stadium
April 3 and 5, 2027Detroit, MIFord Field
April 1 and 3, 2028Las Vegas, NVAllegiant Stadium

Leave a Comment